Do you ever play no ad tennis? Many people do because of time
constraints or because it is used as the format for certain
tournaments. For those of you that are not familiar with
no-ad scoring, it features a sudden death point played at deuce.
Rather than having a game that can stretch into countless points,
when the score gets to deuce the next point wins. Points are
usually counted as 1, 2 and 3 rather than 15, 30, and 40.
A rule for no ad scoring that many people are not aware of is
that on the sudden death point, or 3-3 as it is called, the
receiver has the option to receive serve from the service court
of their choice.
If you are receiving serve on a no ad point, this is your chance
to break. You should definitely take advantage of this rule. At
3-2 you received serve in the ad service court so it is logical
that you would go to the deuce side for the next point. But what
if your opponent has just double faulted to make it 3-3? I would
suggest going back to the ad court to receive serve again. I
think it is always a good idea to make the server see the same
court on which he or she just made the mistake.
If your opponent is serving well, you have to decide which side
you feel most comfortable in making a return. The 3-3 point is
crucial and not a time to take big chances unless you have a
comfortable lead. I would recommend choosing your most
consistent receiving court or, in doubles, allowing the partner
that feels they can get the ball back in play.
Obviously there things you have to take into consideration like
the lefty serving wide on the ad court. If you are left handed
player you might like the opportunity for hitting your forehand.
Whatever the situation, be aware that you have options as the
receiver at 3-3 in no ad scoring. A little strategy about where
you will receive serve can make a big difference at this critical
part of the game.