Re: Matter of rule or etiquette
Rule 26 states: If a player is hindered in playing the point by a
deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point.
The Code of Tennis, Section 33 states: Talking during a point. A
player shall not talk while the ball is moving toward the opponent's
side of the court. If the player's talking interferes with an
opponent's ability to play the ball, the player loses the point.
Consider the situation where a player hits a weak lob and loudly
yells at his or her partner to get back. If the shout is loud enough
to distract an opponent, then the opponent may claim the point based
on a deliberate hindrance. If the opponent chooses to hit the lob and
misses it, the opponent loses the point because the opponent did not
make a timely claim of hindrance.
So if your opponent shouted their call once the ball was traveling
towards you, you would be entitled to the point. If they shouted
their call when the ball was not traveling towards you, and you
stopped play because you mis-heard their communication, a let would
seem to be appropriate.
Received on Thu May 17 2007 - 10:02:49 CDT